How Well Do You Know Thai Football Clubs Nicknames?


It doesn’t take too long from the moment you first step foot in Thailand to notice that Thais are passionate about their football. Very passionate. They follow the Barclays Premier League, Bundesliga, Serie A and pretty much whatever soccer is shown on TV here.

On the home front, the Thai Premier League (sponsored by Toyota and officially known as the Toyota Thai Premier League) is the country’s primary football competition and the season runs from March to October, with most games played on Saturdays and Sundays and a few during the week.

With the next season fast approaching, we’ve put together a quick guide to the teams competing in the league along with their nicknames which are based on their logo.


Army United Football Club

army united football club

Nickname – Gentleman Ranger
Based in Phayathai District

Bangkok Glass Football Club

bangkok glass football club

Nickname – The Glass Rabbits
Based in neighbouring Pathum Thani Province

Bangkok United Football Club

bangkok united football club

Nickname – Bangkok Angels
Based in Bangkok

BEC Tero Sasana Football Club

BEC Tero Sasana FC logo

Nickname – The Fire Dragons
Based in Bangkok

Port Football Club (formerly Singhtarua Football Club)

Khloeng Toey Horse

Nickname – Khlong Toey Horse
Based in PAT Stadium in Khlong Toei District

TOT Sport Club (representing the national telecommunications company)

tot football club

Nickname – Hello
Based in Lak Si District

The other teams in the league are from around Thailand and are:

Buriram United Football Club

Buriram united logo

Based in Buriram
Nickname – The Thunder Castles

Chainat Hornbill Football Club

Chainat Hornbill Football Club

Nickname – The Hornbills
Based in Chainat Province

Chiangrai United Football Club

Chiangrai United Football Club

Nickname – The Beetles
Based in Chiang Rai Province

Chonburi Football Club

Chonburi football club logo

Nickname – The Sharks
Based in the city of Chonburi, Chonburi Province

Muangthong United Football Club

muangthong united logo

Nickname – Twin Qilin
Based in Muang Thong Thani, Nonthaburi Province

Nakhonratchasima Mazda Football Club (commonly known as Korat)

Nakhonratchasima Mazda Football Club (commonly known as Korat)

Nickname – The Swat Cats
Based in Nakhon Ratchasima

Osotspa Samut Prakan

Osotspa samut prakan football club

Nickname – M-Power
Based in Samut Prakan

Ratchaburi Mitr Phol FC

Ratchaburi Mitraphol-Rattana Bundit football club logo

Nickname – The Dragons
Based in Ratchaburi Province

Saraburi Football Club

Saraburi Football Club

Nickname – The Warlords
Based in Saraburi, Saraburi Province

Sisaket Football Club

Sisaket Football Club

Nickname – The Dangerous Koupreys
Based in Sisaket Province

Suphanburi Football Club

Suphanburi Football Club

Nickname – The War Elephant
Based in Suphanburi

Buriram United, The Thunder Castles, are current league champions having won the title in 2015. This was their fifth title and also gave them the distinction of most championships won.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here