Visa on arrival for tourists halved for another six months


The Tourism and Sports Ministry has halved the visa on arrival fees for 21 countries for another 6 months to boost tourism after a sharp decrease in the Chinese tourist last September.

The visa scheme was implemented to boost New Year tourism for 3 months expiring on Feb 28th however, the government plans to extend for another 6 months.

The fee will be waived off for the following countries – India, Uzbekistan, Kazakistan, Lithuania, The Maldives, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Ehiopia, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Latvia, Andorra, Bulgaria, China, Cyprus, Bhutan, Malta and Mauritius.

According to Bangkok Post, the foreign ministry will lose 7 billion baht and plans to compensate the money via other means.

Due to the scheme Thailand had an increase of 6% in tourists from Jan 1st to Jan 20th this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here